Multi-brand design systems

Add brands to display brand-specific design system content.

Supernova gives you the freedom to create a design system that encompasses all brands of a company. In a Supernova design system, you can create brands that may share some similar tokens, components or assets, which which could be styled independently.

With the documentation editor, you can access design system content from all brands and document them side by side in one website.


Enable a multi-brand design system

Every design system starts with a default brand, and must have at least one brand. This brand can be renamed if desired.

If you have a design system already and would like to enable multi-brand, your existing design system content will become the first brand.

If your multi-brand design system has been disabled, you can re-enable it in design system settings.

In a Supernova design system, you can create brands that may share some similar tokens, components or assets, which which could be styled independently.

You can create and manage brands in the Brands section of your design system settings.

null

Enable multiple brands

You can choose which design systems are enabled in your documentation in your Brand settings. This is particularly useful if your company is composed of multiple brands and design systems.

This setting is applied to each individual design system, not your workspace, so to use it in multiple design systems in your workspace, you’ll need to enable it in each design system individually.

  1. Beside Enable multiple brands, toggle the switch to Yes.
  2. In the dropdown, select the design systems from your workspace that you want included.
  3. Publish your documentation to apply this setting.
  4. Simply toggle the switch to No to disable it.

Create a new brand

null
  1. Go to Design System settings -> Brands.
  2. Click New brand.
  3. Enter a brand name and optional description.
  4. Click Create brand to finish.

You can also edit the brand details, or delete a brand.

To do so:

  1. Hover on the relevant version row, and click ... to open the context menu.
  2. Click Edit details to open the Edit brand dialog and make any changes required.
  3. Click Delete brand to open the delete dialog. Type DELETE and click Delete brand to permanently delete this brand from your workspace.
null